Juliet Hollister Awards

Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew Prince Hassan of Jordan Prince Hassan of Jordan Majora Carter Majora Carter May Rihani May Rihani Karen Armstrong Karen Armstrong Peter Max Peter Max Venerable Yifa Venerable Dr. Yifa Rabbi Yehuda Sarna Rabbi Yehuda Sarna Chief Arvol Looking Horse Chief Arvol Looking Horse Rabbi Awraham Soetendorp Rabbi Awraham Soetendorp Ambassador Suzan Johnson Cook Ambassador Suzan Johnson Cook Juliet Hollister Award presented to Ela Gandhi Reverend. Dr. James A. Forbes Reverend Dr. James A. Forbes, Jr. Juliet Hollister & Dalai Lama Juliet Hollister & Dalai Lama Wangari Mathaii Wangari Mathaii Dr. Karan Singh Dr. Karan Singh Queen Noor of Jordan Queen Noor of Jordan Chelsea Clinton Chelsea Clinton Father Thomas Keating Father Thomas Keating Dr. Suheil Bushrui Dr. Suheil Bushrui Daniel Pearl Daniel Pearl Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu Archbishop Desmond Tutu Imam Khalid Latif Imam Khalid Latif Bhai Mohinder Singh Bhai Mohinder Singh

In 1996, in support and affirmation of individuals whose life work has advanced the interfaith ideal, the Temple of Understanding established the Juliet Hollister Award. Named in honor of our founder, Hollister Awards are granted to individuals who are:

  1. Religious figures who bring interfaith values into the place of worship were the faithful congregate; and
  2. Secular figures who promote greater understanding of spiritual values in areas such as the arts, education, media, government, science, law and ecology.

Past awardees include Karen Armstrong, Dr. Coleman Barks, His All Holiness Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew, Dr. Thomas Berry, Dr Suheil Badi Bushrui, Majora Carter, Fr. Thomas Keating, Sir Vilayat Inayat Khan, Dr. Hans Kung, His Holiness the XIVth Dalai Lama, His Royal Highness Prince el Hassan bin Talal, Chief Arvol Looking Horse, H.E. Ambassador Suzan Johnson Cook, Henry Luce III, Nelson Mandela, Dr. Wangari Maathai, Peter Max, the Very Rev. James Parks Morton, Her Majesty Queen Noor, Daniel Pearl (accepted at the time by Dr. Judea Pearl), Cokie and Steven Roberts, Mary Robinson, Sri Swami Satchidananda, Maestro Ravi Shankar, Russell Simmons, Dr. Karan Singh, Bhai Mohinder Singh Alowalla, Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu and Venerable Dr. Yifa.